Love is in the Garden!

JANupdate104

For Valentine’s Day this year, my husband is helping me add our first rain barrel to the garden!!! I am soooo excited.

JANupdate102

I have wanted one for years! We added gutters to the house last year and now have the perfect place for one. We will have to build a stand and place it under the gutter spout, after we remove some banana trees.  The rain barrel even has a small tray on the top for planting anything with shallow roots. I was thinking some succulents would be nice and easy.

Lots of activity in the garden this week…

JANupdate103Cauliflower heads are starting to peak through their leaves.

imageAfter lots of love (and misting) our spring sprouts are starting to appear.  Above my oldest gardener planted beets, hope this means she will eat them. 😉

JANupdate105

Onions are looking lovely! We should have all sorts of varieties ready soon.

image

One more head of cabbage is left in the garden this week! Yum!

gardenV1

And a little red is showing up in the garden, just in time for Valentine’s Day dinner.

Happy Gardening!

 

6 thoughts on “Love is in the Garden!

  1. Just wondering what you’re using your harvested rainwater for? I’d be worried about using it on vegetables because of all of the pollution, bird poop, and roofing chemicals that will run into the barrel when it rains.

    1. For now, we are planning on using it for ornamentals. I have done the research though. I am not sure our energy intensive city tap water with its chemicals, including chlorine and fluoride, is any better than harvested rainwater. Both have undesirable qualities. The free water I can obtain from my barrel is reducing stormwater runoff in my area, along with my water bill. Harvested rainwater with its slightly acidic pH assist with nutrient absorption as well as ground recharge. So many things can contaminate water from any source, thank goodness nature offers us plants and soil to help filter out the negatives. I did my homework on this one, maybe I should write a blog post on it. 😉 Thanks for stopping by to ask!

      1. I’d love to read a blog post on it, as I go back and forth on the rainbarrel issue all the time. It was estimated on another blog (sustainable landscapes for dummies author Owen Dell) that a full 60 gallon rainbarrel is worth about $0.30, so the return on investment is poor, and there are better ways to reduce runoff, like french drains and rain gardens, which would absorb so much more than 60 gal. It scares me that most people use that water in the veggie garden, but if you’re only using it for ornamentals, it’s a great use for that water. Last summer, I noticed my next door neighbor’s kid drinking out of their barrel. Blech!

        I just started following your blog, as my mom is a FL gardener, and I am enjoying your posts.

      2. Now drinking it sounds gross! 😉 I know that our city water, which we were previously using cost us $0.07 a gal. So a full barrel is worth around $4 to me. We paid $78 for our set up. My grandmother has a french drain system here in FL. It has been expensive and a pain over the past ten years. I am not a fan from my own experiences with it. Rain gardens in swampy FL are a magnetic for mosquitoes and bugs. A lot of people use mosquito dunks for their rain gardens, and most contain more insecticide and chemicals. I think the solution is different for everyone. From my experiences at a local community garden, I think our barrel will collect more than it can hold on a regular basis with our daily afternoon thunderstorms in the summer. Most Floridians have to deal with barrel overflow. We are excited to learn as we go. I am sure I will continue to blog about it. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

