Garden is Green


My garden is green again!  Spring is here, a little early, but it is here!

Our celery is doing lovely! As my five year old says, “Mom it is starting to look like the celery in the grocery store!”  This is my first attempt at growing celery and so far as good. Maybe another month and we will be able to harvest.


Sweet peas have sprouted in the garden. The little gardeners really enjoyed picking and shelling them last year!


Our fennel is doing great! It was brought over from the closing community garden.


Lots of green tomatoes!


Our pentas were never killed from the winter cold, so they seem to be full of extra blooms and much larger than normal this year!

 
Our lantana was killed from the cold, and is now making a coming back. Soon the bird bath will be hard to see, as we already have new lantana blooms starting.


My favorite green in the garden is our mint. I know I’ve said this before, but I love mint, and I have missed it!  

Here’s one of my favorite refreshing drinks after working in the garden:

  • 3 green tea bags
  • 1 quart boiling water
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 large lemon, sliced into 1/4-inch slices
  • 1 bunch fresh mint
  • 2 cups cold water

Brew tea in boiling water, letting steep for about 10 mins. Pour brewed tea into a serving pitcher. Add sugar and lemon, and swirl in the mint, holding it by the stems and using it to stir and dissolve the sugar. When sugar is dissolved, drop mint into pitcher and add 2 cups cold water. Refrigerate until thoroughly chilled. You can strain mint out before serving, but I like to leave it in. I think I originally got this from foodnetwork.com, but it was so long ago and it is only hand written in my cookbook now. 🙂

Happy Spring Gardening!

3 thoughts on “Garden is Green

Leave a Reply

