Thinking about Fall – Garden Update

I am so anxious to get things started this year that I couldn’t wait any longer.  I planted some fall seeds!!!  I know it’s early for our zone 9 gardening. Maybe two – four weeks too early but like I said I couldn’t wait any longer! 🙂

homegrown broccoli seeds

I planted most of the seeds in trays and some in the actual garden beds.  This year I used an old broken trellis to mark some of the seeds.  It will help keep the cat and dog out of the garden until the plants are bigger and established as well!

   

We planted green onions, Bibb lettuce, parsley, leeks and purple dragon carrots in the raised bed.  In the trays we started broccoli, Seminole pumpkin, and marigolds.

Some of the seeds have already sprouted! From left to right: radishes, celery & a mystery sprout. I think it is cauliflower or broccoli that the little gardeners planted a few weeks ago. It was not marked though, so I guess we will see. 🙂

   

What is left of the summer gardening is still doing well.  The aloe, grasses, sweet potatoes & herbs are loving the humidity & heat.

Aloe Vera
dwarf red fountain grass
sweet potatoes
   
sweet basil bloom
rosemary

 I love going to the garden to check on things and finding evidence that the little gardeners have been there. Here they had created a fairy bridge out of old palm bark and toad castle out of an empty pot. 🙂

Happy Gardening!

2 thoughts on “Thinking about Fall – Garden Update

Leave a Reply

