Holiday Gardening

December in the garden has been awesome!  We have had more collard greens than we know what to do with, and the lettuce has been awesome. The purple podded beans are now finished.  We harvested close to five pounds of beans from five plants this year!

We’re planning on traveling for Christmas, so we are eating as much garden produce as we can right now!   We still have romaine lettuce, cabbage, and cauliflower growing in the garden, expected to be ready in mid January.  The first freeze of the year is expected four days before we come home.  I am nervous our pineapple garden won’t make it without being covered, so I will ask the house sitter to cover them if possible.  My green thumbs are crossed all fairs well!

Happy December!

8 responses to this post.

  1. It’s been mild here too, so far. Enjoy your harvest and safe travels to your family.

    Reply

  2. What a great looking garden! Congrats! I hope our garden looks that good next year. This year it’s been scraggly. Enjoy your vacation!

    Reply

  3. I am so jealous that you can still grow things right now. That is so awesome that you have such a wonderful garden!

    Reply

  4. This style of hem reminds me of my garden lettuce. I have never grown iceberg lettuce, because I find it flavorless. I grow green leaf lettuce, and it has super ruffly edges.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

